top of page


  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Trauma Announces Bassist For Upcoming Shows, New Music Release ‘Awakening’

Updated: Feb 27, 2023

Veteran metallists Trauma has announced that bassist Michael Spencer will be playing with the band (Spencer is best known for replacing Jason Newsted in Flotsam and Jetsam) at the Alcatraz Festival in Belgium on Sunday, August 14th.

This is a picture of Michael Spencer playing bass live on stage.
Bassist Michael Spencer - Photo Credit Lenn Photography

Trauma’s new album ‘Awakening,’ will be coming out on September 9th via Massacre Records, and can be pre-ordered via this link:

“I’ve done shows in the past with both Brian and Joe and had a copy of ‘As The World Dies’, the band’s 2018 release,” says Spencer. “So when Brian called to see I’d be interested in helping the band fill their open bass spot for some European dates, after sending me few advanced tracks off Trauma’s new album ‘Awakening’, I was in. Pretty impressive music coming from the guys that will be a blast to play live at Alcatraz Metal Festival, hopefully hanging with a few of my Belgian and Dutch friends.”

And Trauma is excited about playing on stage with Spencer. "We are delighted to have Michael Spencer onboard for these shows". In addition to Allen, Trauma’s line-up that recorded ‘Awakening’ features Brian Allen (vocals), Joe Fraulob (guitar), Steve Robello (guitar), Greg Christian (bass), and Kris Gustofson (drums). ‘Awakening’ was produced by Juan Urteaga, and features artwork by Ioannis.

Originally formed in 1981 in San Francisco, Trauma was one of the first heavy metal bands – along with Exodus, Metallica, and Testament – to trailblaze the style now known as “thrash.” And the thrash metal band’s original bassist was none other than the late/legendary Cliff Burton (who would later join Metallica). 1984 saw the release of the group’s debut album, ‘Scratch and Scream,’ before the band parted in 1985. But in 2013, Trauma reunited, and have been back in business ever since.

“I am very excited that we are at a point of new music coming out to the metal fans,” says Gustofson. “This album was recorded during a very strange time and was almost off the table. We were lucky to have Brian Allen join the band and make the new album possible. Am hopeful the fans of thrash metal will sink their teeth into the AWAKENING! it is a feast for all!”


1. Walk Away

2. Death of the Angels

3. Meat

4. River Red

5. Burn

6. Falling down

7. Voodoo

8. End of everything

9. Blind

10. Death Machine


303 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page